Yes, I’m alive. And yes, I’m playing games.

I know what you want to tell me. Where have you been? Well, work, family, you know it. And games. Yes, I admit, I have been spending quite some time with games on my PowerMac G5 lately. I haven’t been much of a gamer for the past few years even though Summoner sucked me in a couple of month ago. You could say I rediscovered the joy of forgetting a stressful work day in a virtual world.

Even more since I discovered gamersgate.com, an online distributor of games. Games that were put off the store shelves a long time ago, keep being available online for a few bucks. Granted, you don’t get the package and if you’re a collector, there is no way this will make you happy. But for those of us who just want to play a new game every now and then on their PowerPC Tiger machines, GamersGate is a good alternative. You sign up, provide payment details and immediately download the game. Once bought, a game is added to your profile and can be re-downloaded whenever you’re in need to. There is a lot of critique about this distribution model on the net and while I can see the negative aspects (what if the distributor goes bankrupt!?) I still like it. It’s cheap, it’s easy, it’s fast.

So far, I have discovered lots of PowerPC Mac games that will run on Mac OS X Tiger. Here is a quick, incomplete list:

Chicago 1930

Creatures Exodus

Solitaire Mac

Metris IV

World of Goo

Legend of the Tolteks

Software Tycoon

This really sounds like I’m doing the job of their marketing department, does it? But really, I’m in no affiliation with them (other then being a regular customer) and just enjoying the service. Reality is – it’s getting harder to find some of the PowerPC Mac games at a low price on eBay. Websites like Macintoshgarden don’t archive OSX games yet and so you may be out of luck if you’re looking for a specific game. (Besides, I don’t have the space for an extensive library of games.)

Do any of you know of any more distributors like Gamersgate which legally provide PowerPC Mac games today?

This entry was posted in Games. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yes, I’m alive. And yes, I’m playing games.

  1. tiger says:

    Good to see you’re still with us.

  2. PowerMac4Ever says:

    Another great site for Powerpc-users: http://www.powerpcsoftware.com/

  3. trinette says:

    Sites I use are http://bigfishgames.com and http://gamehouse.com both have Mac OS X games for Tiger and Leopard.

Leave a Reply

